The Automation

4/5 Stars

The Automation

By Anonymous, B.L.A and G.B Gabbler

Published by S.O.B Publishing

Published on September 23rd 2014

“Odys (no, not short for Odysseus, thank you) finds his hermetic lifestyle falling apart after a stranger commits suicide to free his soul-attached Automaton slave. The humanoid Automaton uses Odys’s soul to “reactivate” herself. Odys must learn to accept that the female Automaton is an extension of his body—that they are the same person—and that her creator-god is forging a new purpose for all with Automatons…”

I chose to take an excerpt from the author’s description of the book simply because this book is near impossible to describe. This work of fiction is filled with peculiar characters of the human, automation and God variety. The main character isn’t necessarily the main character, the narrator isn’t just the narrator and as the reader, you’ll be involved in this story whether you like it or not.

“The Automation” is written in the most unorthodox style I have ever seen. At first I absolutely hated it, please don’t talk to me as I’m reading; I want to be lost in the story, not involved in it. Why is the narrator talking to and about the author? What the hell is going on here?

As I dived farther into the story, I found myself totally engrossed in the plot, invested in the bizarre characters and then in fact, wishing there was more when I turned the final page. I particularly enjoyed the air of mystery that surrounded the narrator and his unusual way of telling this story. Like I said…unorthodox.

I only really had two issues with this book and the first can’t be helped. There are a crazy number of footnotes from the “editor” and reading The Automation on a kindle, I was unaware of them until the end. I felt that I missed out on some of the humor that was set in place. The other issue is with a certain character that I felt missed the mark a bit. Dorian starts out in the story with certain personality traits and by the end of the book he was a totally different person with no explanation as to why. I felt that he was forced into being something that wasn’t natural to his character.

If you’re up for a bit of an adventure and okay with not knowing the whole truth until then end….and maybe not even then….well…you know the drill.

*I received a copy of this book in exchange for my honest review*

Leave a Reply

