Just Juliet

5/5 Stars

Just Juliet

By Charlotte Reagan

Published on September 16th, 2016 

“Lena Newman is 17, her best friend’s a cheerleader, her boyfriend’s a football player, and as far as everyone is concerned, her life is sorted. But that’s before she befriends the new girl. Juliet is confident, slightly damaged, drop-dead gorgeous and a lesbian.”

Charlotte Reagan brings to life a vibrant tale of young love, diverse sexuality and hilarious teenage banter in “Just Juliet.” This story is neither gloomy nor cozy but rather an affectionate story that could be…real life. There are no major signs of teenage angst or overly zealous plot lines in this book. There is however, a real and raw truth that I believe many young adults can identify with.

While the main character fights with her own sexuality, her love interest Juliet, is a lesbian. Staying close to the story is a young gay couple, whom I absolutely adored. There are varying degrees of parental involvement, to cover any part of the spectrum involving coming out to an adult.

This simple yet enchanting tale of young love and varying degrees of sexuality is exactly what I wish I would have had to read a decade ago. I wish that I could have read this, before coming out to my friends and family. I may have been less dramatic about my approach, but I digress. I am thankful that this book is available to teenagers and young adults who may be struggling with their situations.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

One thought on “Just Juliet

Leave a Reply

