Moon Chosen

4/5 Stars

Moon Chosen

By; P.C Cast

Published by St. Martin’s Griffin

Expected publication: October 18th 2016

 

From one of the co-authors of the House of Night series comes a brand new tale. P.C Cast invites you into a world set in a futuristic and post-apocalyptic place. A place where tribes live in trees, clans live in burrows and skin stealers live in the ruined city. “Moon Chosen” follows Mari, an Earth Walker, on her journey to discover her true self. While learning to master her unique healing powers, Mari is met with disaster, tragedy and misfortune. When a member of the rival tree tribe is brought to Mari by an exceptional creature, the two must work together to save each other and their clans.

I will preface this by saying that I had no idea what to expect from “Moon Chosen.” It had been over a decade since I had read any of the House of Night series. I had loved those books an incredible amount and found myself really excited to read something new from the co-author. That being said, Moon Chosen is nothing at all like the House of Night series. Please do not go into this book thinking otherwise.

The book started out rocky which kept me detached from the characters. I felt that the story jumped around a bit and I couldn’t quite get a handle on what was happening. However, about twenty percent of the way through the book I realized that I was invested in the characters. I yearned to know where their paths would cross. Sixty percent of the way through and I couldn’t put it down. I HAD to know what was going to happen and I needed to know now! I urge you not to give up on this book if you feel it lags a bit in the beginning.

There are so many different elements introduced in Moon Chosen. From skin stealers to scratchers; from moon powers to people living in trees; Moon Chosen is sure to bring you on an adventure you had no idea you wanted to take.

Thank you to Netgalley for providing me with a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

