All the Missing Girls

3/5 Stars
All the Missing Girls
By: Megan Miranda
Publisher: Simon & Schuster 
Publication Date:  28 Jun 2016 

        When Nicolette Farrell returns home after a decade long departure she’s met with an unexpected turn of events. While she’s headed back to Cooley Ridge to help aid her ailing father and sell their family home, Nic is surprised when her past dredges up memories of a missing girl from her childhood. Ten years ago the investigation led authorities to Nic, her brother Daniel, her boyfriend Tyler and the missing girl’s boyfriend Jackson but no one was ever found guilty. Upon Nic’s return home, Tyler’s new girlfriend, Annaliese goes missing. The story of All the Missing Girls is told backwards from day fifteen until day one. A gripping thriller that you won’t be able to put down.  

                This story intrigued me from the cover to the synopsis. I had yet to see a story told chronologically backwards. So suffice it to say I was sold from page one. I didn’t set this book down until I had finished it. I praise Megan Miranda for doing something so different and doing it well. I kept holding my breath as each chapter ended and the story went back to “the day before.”

                I will admit that I found it rather difficult to stay on track, I often found myself confused as we were going backward in the story. At times I had to keep asking myself why the main character was or wasn’t doing something she should have been, only to realize that she wasn’t because the event hadn’t happened yet. There were only slight discrepancies on my end, it’s quite possible that anyone else might not have the issues that I had.

                As I do with any psychological thriller or mystery, I picked out my “suspect” from the beginning and looked for clues along the way. I’ll admit that I was half right and that was just a lucky guess.

                If you’re ready for a mesmerizing tale of missing girls and a unique take on mystery writing, I urge you to give this a chance. Miranda’s writing is absolutely eloquent and I look forward to reading more from her in the future.

Thank you to netgalley for this book in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

