The Last One

The Last One

Alexandra Oliva

Random House Publishing

4/5 stars

The Last One is a fantastic novel that features a slew of characters that appear to be on a television show not unlike Survivor. The story follows Zoo (the main character) as well as the other contestants while they race to be the final “survivor” in their game. Silent camera crews, an edgy producer and a quirky host help the scenes along, planting obstacles and challenges for the twelve competitors. The characters; Tracker, Waitress, Rancher, Air Force, Black Doctor, Zoo, Cheerleader Boy, Biology, Engineer, Banker and Construction Girl are all competing for a chance to win one million dollars. The story switches from third person to first person in the form of Zoo’s narrative. Zoo is hard pressed to win the game for reasons other than money. But when she finds herself alone for too long, Zoo starts to question what is part of the game and what is real.

I absolutely loved this book. It reminded me a lot of the new T.V show “Alone” where ten people are dropped in the wilderness with their small set of survival items. The last one standing wins, which is exactly what our main character here is doing; Zoo is determined to be the last one standing. I love the parts of the story that were told by Zoo’s narrative. Having an inside look at how she viewed the world and the game was a huge bonus.

I definitely wasn’t shocked by the plot twist and I wasn’t thrown off track from my immediate guesses at how this would end. I have mixed feelings about the ending; the author could have gone a whole bunch of different directions. That being said, I myself raced to finish this book. I was dying to know how it ended and when I got to the finish line I felt a bit empty. I wanted more!

All in all, this was a fun read and I encourage you to give it a go.

I received a copy of The Last One in an exchange for an honest review via NetGalley.

 

One thought on “The Last One

Leave a Reply

