Mechanica

image

Mechanica was given to me as a gift and I promise you I squealed with excitement. Not only is this cover gorgeous (I need a physical copy NOW) but it’s a steampunk Cinderella retelling? Yes, please!

Mechanica gives us the usual Cinderella themes; horrible stepmother, awful stepsisters and lots of chores. The author took a few liberties with the story line and I found myself pleasantly surprised. Especially when it came down to the “fairy godmother” and stroke of midnight. You’ll have to read it to find out what I’m talking about.

I appreciate that Mechanica is a strong lead rather than the typical damsel in distress version of Cinderella. I especially adored the steampunk twists and inventions. I would love to have a Jules.

The ending of the book was slightly anti-climatic, in my opinion. That being said, overall the story was cute and fun to read.

Leave a Reply

