Ugly Love

ugly love_cover_FINAL

I’ve recently become an obsessed CoHort – huge fan of Colleen Hoover’s books. I actively seek out the #coho hashtag. Be it via Instagram, Twitter or my favorite Facebook reading group. I’m tangled up in the web of emotions that Hoover brings out in every book she writes. “Slammed” is the book that popped my CoHo cherry. It utterly destroyed me. I’ve mentioned previously that all I did that day was read and cry and then read and cry some more until there was nothing left of the book or my tears. I promptly read the next two books in the series before nursing my book hangover.

A few days ago I picked up “Confess” and devoured it in a day. I gave you a small snippet of the book in my review. So why am I back already, with another CoHo review? I’ll tell you why…I couldn’t freaking stay away. I believe I’m a glutton for punishment. After finishing a totally separate book (a YA fantasy novel) last night, I decided on “Ugly Love” as my next read. I knew this was a bad decision instantly. I even posted in my book group “Diving in tonight. It’s going to be a late night, isn’t it?” I knew what I was doing, I proceeded anyway.

Four hours. That’s how long it took me to consume every word of “Ugly Love”. I poured out every emotion I think I’ve ever felt in my whole life into tears and my ugly crying face. Four hours that had me feeling like I’ve lived an entire lifetime in between the pages of that book. I met Tate and fell in love with her snarky personality and sarcasm. I followed along on Miles’ journey, begging to know his secrets. I begged him and begged him to share his life with us. I yearned to see a relationship form, for hearts NOT to get broken and for a happily ever after. However, it’s called “Ugly Love” for a reason. Sometimes love isn’t pretty and all sunshine and flowers. In fact, more often than not, it’s ugly. It’s also what we do with the ugly that matters. It has a certain beauty about it when you can show the ugly parts of who you are not only to the ones you love, but also to yourself. If you hide away the ugly, you’ll never be able to fix it. You’ll live forever in a state of denial and frustration. You owe it to yourself to be honest, to love and to communicate. You owe it to yourself to have an Ugly Love.

I leave you with this; go read “Ugly Love” by Colleen Hoover. Then I want you to analyze what might be ugly in your life. Think about it long and hard and then work on it. You owe it to yourself.  

Leave a Reply

