Confess by Colleen Hoover

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.” My tears fall harder at his words. “And I’ll love you forever. Even when I shouldn’t”.


confess-colleen-hoover.jpg

I’m admittedly a woman in my late twenties who reads mostly young adult novels. I’m a sucker for anything fantasy, dystopian, apocalyptic or post-apocalyptic. That being said, I rarely shy away from these types of books. I belong to a group of almost two thousand women who love to share books, ideas about books and anything that has the word book attached to it. They are always sharing their love for different genres and authors. So when I kept seeing the hashtag “#coho” I had to investigate.

Colleen Hoover (co ho – get it now?) is a New York Times bestselling author of several young-adult and new-adult fiction novels. I first got my hands on “Slammed” and was absolutely floored by how a book could ignite so many emotions inside of me. I am NOT a book crier…but I cried and I read. I cried and I read all damn day. I immediately picked up books two and three of the series, “Point of Retreat” and “This Girl.” And then I took a much needed break due to a severe book hangover.

So when I finally picked up “Confess”, I tried to prepare myself for the emotional rollercoaster I was about to ride. I’ll tell you this, no matter how much you try; you’ll never be prepared. Hoover plans for you to embark on an unexpected journey and just when you think you’re ok, she’ll slip the magic carpet right out from under you. She’ll leave you suspended in mid-air, wait for you to hit rock bottom and then she’ll come along and comfort you.

In Confess we follow Auburn Reed on a journey to live out the life she’s trying so hard to grasp. She has a plan and nothing can detour her. That is until she finds herself standing outside of an art studio that turns an everyday person’s confessions into a work of art. What she finds is so much more. Owen Gentry is a talented artist who shows Auburn that it’s ok to take risks, in love and in life. He leads an artist’s lifestyle and appears to be the guy for her, but what about his own confessions? Owen’s secrets could ruin everything that Auburn has been fighting so hard for. Will she give up her dream for a man she barley knows or will she allow herself to embrace love and give up the one thing she’s working so hard to obtain?

It’s rather difficult to give much detail of Confess without giving away any spoilers. There were a few things throughout the story that I was able to catch on to by Hoover’s excellent ability to foreshadow. That being said, she managed to keep ahold of a huge surprise for the very end. I encourage you to pick up Confess. There’s just enough romance, secrets, lies and comfort to keep you reading from the first page until the very end. It’ll leave you broken and mended and maybe broken again.

Leave a Reply

